Find Nonprofit and Small Business Grants

Advance Search

Only Available for Paid Subscribers
Clear Filters
Search Filters

2019 Sojourns Scholar Leadership Program

Grants to USA Healthcare Professionals for Leadership
Development and Projects in the Field of Palliative Care

Agency Type:

Foundation / Corporation

Funding Source:

Add to My Calendar 

Cambia Health Foundation

LOI Date:


Deadline Date:

06/17/19 4:00 PM PST


Request a Grant Writer

Grants of $90,000 per year for two years to USA physicians, nurses, and other healthcare professionals for leadership development and to develop palliative care projects. LOIs must be submitted before applying. Funding is intended for clinical, education, policy, and research projects in the area of palliative care, as well as to develop a leadership development plan designed to support growth as a leader in the field.

The goals of the program include the following:

- Identify outstanding emerging leaders who are physicians, nurses, social workers, physician assistants, chaplains, psychologists, pharmacists and other emerging health system leaders committed to improving access to, knowledge about, and quality of palliative care.
- Invest in leadership development, enabling Scholars to use their expertise and influence to create system and policy changes in palliative care locally, regionally and nationally.
- Develop the professional visibility and advance the palliative care expertise of the Sojourns Scholars, enhancing their ability to advance the field.

Program Components:

- A two-year clinical, educational, policy, advocacy, research or systems change project.
- An individualized leadership development plan to enhance the Sojourns Scholar’s effectiveness as a leader.
- Annual Sojourns Scholar Leadership Summit.
- Mentorship from the Advisory Committee.
- Participation as a member of the Sojourns community of peers.

GrantWatch ID#:

GrantWatch ID#: 177395

Number of Grants:

The program will support up to twelve Sojourns Scholars in 2019.

Estimated Size of Grant:

Sojourns Scholars receive $180,000 in funding ($90,000/year over a two-year grant).

Term of Contract:

Funding is provided for a two-year clinical, educational, policy, advocacy, research or systems change project.

Additional Eligibility Criteria:

The program seeks to include physicians, nurses, social workers, physician assistants, chaplains, psychologists, pharmacists and other emerging health system leaders.

Eligibility requirements for each category is as follows:

Nurses: At least two years post-Masters preferred; Board certification by the Hospice and Palliative Credentialing Center preferred.

Physicians: At least two years out of training preferred; Board certification in Hospice and Palliative Medicine preferred.

Social Workers: For clinical social workers, licensure in state of practice and at least two years post-Masters (MSW) preferred. Specialty certification in hospice or palliative care or post graduate training in oncology, palliative care or hospice preferred. For academic social workers, PhD preferred.

Physician Assistants: Practicing clinical PA with at least two years of experience in hospice or palliative medicine (or critical care setting), in good standing with NCCPA.

Chaplains: Master’s degree in theology or related field; Board certification in chaplaincy (BCC) (board certification in Hospice and Palliative Care (BCC-HPCC) preferred); at least two years clinical experience in hospice and palliative care.

Psychologists: Licensed clinical psychologist with PhD. At least two years in delivery of psychological counseling services to palliative care populations.

Pharmacists: At least two years post-completion of PharmD (Doctor of Pharmacy). One or more residency years training preferred (Completed post-graduate (PGY-2) residency in pain management and palliative care given top priority although limited programs exist).

Health Systems Professionals: Master’s degree in public health, business administration or related field preferred. Champion of palliative care integration across health care systems.

Applicants must demonstrate a clear commitment to palliative care. Awardees should not be a current recipient of a career development award at the time of initial Sojourns Scholar Program funding (e.g. NIH K-Award, VA career award, National Palliative Care Research Center, or other funded career award).

Pre-Application Information:

LOIs including required attachments are due by February 28, 2019 at 12 p.m. PST.

The Full Proposal Grant Application and all required attachments will be due by June 17, 2019 at 4:00 p.m. PST.

The applicant’s home institution will be required to submit a letter signed by a director (CEO, Administrator, Dean or Chair) confirming that at least 50% the applicant’s time will be dedicated to their grant project and leadership development as part of the Sojourns Scholar Leadership Program.

Applicants are required to have at least one local mentor to provide support for the applicant’s project and leadership development.

Applicant must be available to attend a one-hour in-person interview in Portland, Oregon that will be scheduled on September 18 or 19, 2019. Please consider travel to and from Portland when holding these dates on your calendar. Travel costs will be paid by Cambia Health Foundation.

All Sojourns Scholars must be available for the Sojourns Scholar Leadership Summit which will take place on February 11-13, 2020 in Portland, Oregon.


Contact Information:

Before starting your grant application, please review the funding source's website listed below for updates/changes/addendums/conferences/LOIs.

Submit an LOI:

Jennifer Fuller, Program Officer

Elyse Salend, Program Officer

Emily Rogers, Program Specialist

URL for Full Text (RFP):

Geographic Focus:

USA: Alabama;   Alaska;   Arizona;   Arkansas;   California;   Colorado;   Connecticut;   Delaware;   Florida;   Georgia;   Hawaii;   Idaho;   Illinois;   Indiana;   Iowa;   Kansas;   Kentucky;   Louisiana;   Maine;   Maryland;   Massachusetts;   Michigan;   Minnesota;   Mississippi;   Missouri;   Montana;   Nebraska;   Nevada;   New Hampshire;   New Jersey;   New Mexico;   New York City;   New York;   North Carolina;   North Dakota;   Ohio;   Oklahoma;   Oregon;   Pennsylvania;   Rhode Island;   South Carolina;   South Dakota;   Tennessee;   Texas;   Utah;   Vermont;   Virginia;   Washington, DC;   Washington;   West Virginia;   Wisconsin;   Wyoming