Find Nonprofit and Small Business Grants

Advance Search

Only Available for Paid Subscribers
Clear Filters
Search Filters

Psychosocial Research (PSR) Grants

Fellowships and Grants to USA and Canada IHEs and
Rehab Facilities for Research on Spinal Cord Injuries

Agency Type:

Foundation / Corporation

Funding Source:

Add to My Calendar 

Craig H. Neilsen Foundation

LOI Date:


Deadline Date:

07/22/19 5:00 PM ET


Request a Grant Writer

Fellowships and grants to USA and Canada academic institutions and rehabilitation facilities for research on psychological, biological, and social factors affecting individuals living with spinal cord injuries. An LOI must be submitted before applying. Funding is intended to improve the lives of people living with SCI.

Emphasis is placed on research directed towards:
- Increasing understanding of psychological (behavioral, emotional, cognitive) and social (interpersonal, community, environmental) factors that affect health, functioning, and quality of life
- Testing the effectiveness and/or feasibility of rehabilitation and habilitation interventions to improve psychological and social functioning, including participation in work, school, and other community activities
- Improving measurements of psychological, social and environmental risk factors, protective factors, processes and outcomes;
- Identifying critical service gaps, needed data and/or new areas of exploration, within a psychosocial or socioecological context, as defined by or with input from people living with SCI.

The PSR portfolio areas of emphasis include, but are not limited to, research on aging, caregiving (formal and informal networks), employment/work, health behaviors and fitness, independent living/lifestyle, self-management/selfcare, and technology access. Research can involve qualitative and/or quantitative methodologies.

There are three funding categories in the Psychosocial Research Portfolio:
- Postdoctoral Fellowships (For details, see:
- Pilot Grants (For details, see:
- Studies and Demonstration Projects (For details, see:

GrantWatch ID#:

GrantWatch ID#: 182500

Estimated Size of Grant:

Funding for PSR Pilot grants is for up to two years, $200,000 total costs.

Funding for Fellowships is $75,000 per year, for up to two years; $150,000 total costs.

Funding for Studies and Demonstration Projects provide a maximum total of $400,000 over three years.

Term of Contract:

Grants from the Neilsen Foundation may be multi-year awards. Funding for each subsequent year will be contingent on a favorable review of an annual progress and expenditure report.

Funding for PSR Pilot grants is for up to two years.

Funding for Fellowships is for up to two years.

Funding for Studies and Demonstration Projects provide up to three years.

Additional Eligibility Criteria:

The following applies to all funding categories:

- Applicants must have a doctoral degree or an equivalent terminal professional degree (e.g., PhD, MD, DVM). Non-fellowship applicants must demonstrate appropriate experience to serve as an independent Principal Investigator (PI). The Neilsen Foundation encourages submissions from eligible PIs who represent a wide range of disciplines; however, it is required that relevant SCI expertise is represented on the proposed research project team.

- The grantee must be a nonprofit academic/research institution or rehabilitation facility located in the United States or Canada with a demonstrated capability to conduct grant-funded research.

-The PI is not required to be a citizen of the United States or Canada; however, the PI must be employed by an eligible grantee institution. Each application must include the appropriate endorsement of an institutional official who is responsible for the administration of grant funds (hereafter known as the “Grants Administrator”).

- Neilsen Foundation grants are not awarded to individuals, private foundations or certain 509(a)(3), Type III supporting organizations.

- The PI/Applicant named in a grant application must be deemed eligible by his/her institution/organization to apply for a grant, and is expected to be responsible for conduct of the research.

- A PI may only submit one application in a given portfolio cycle.

- The Neilsen Foundation does not allow Co-Principal Investigators or Co-Investigators on its research grants. If two or more investigators are working together on a research project, one must serve as the PI; the other(s) should be listed as collaborator(s).

- Multiple PIs from an institution may submit concurrent, independent applications in a given grant cycle. In such cases, each project must be distinct, with non-overlapping Aims.

- The Neilsen Foundation discourages Postdoctoral Fellows and their mentor(s) from submitting concurrent applications with overlapping Aims to multiple funding categories within this portfolio.

Pre-Application Information:

- March 25, 2019 5:00 PM (Eastern Time) Letter of Intent (LOI)
- May 2019 Notification of LOI Results
- July 22, 2019 5:00 PM (Eastern Time) Full Grant Application (FGA)
- December 2019 Notification of FGA Results
- April 2020 Awarded Grants to be Funded

Applicants are strongly recommended to begin the application process in proposalCENTRAL well in advance of all deadlines. Late submissions will not be considered.

Note: The Neilsen Foundation strongly discourages Applicants from contacting any member of any Neilsen Foundation Review Board once an application has been submitted.

Application tutorial:

Contact Information:

Before starting your grant application, please review the funding source's website listed below for updates/changes/addendums/conferences/LOIs.

Apply online:

For questions regarding an application’s submission status:
Ehrica Hernandez, Grants Management Associate

For questions regarding the portfolio:
Joy Guihama, PSR Program Officer

For assistance with the online application:
proposalCENTRAL Customer Service
(800) 875-2562

URL for Full Text (RFP):

Geographic Focus:

USA: Alabama;   Alaska;   Arizona;   Arkansas;   California;   Colorado;   Connecticut;   Delaware;   Florida;   Georgia;   Hawaii;   Idaho;   Illinois;   Indiana;   Iowa;   Kansas;   Kentucky;   Louisiana;   Maine;   Maryland;   Massachusetts;   Michigan;   Minnesota;   Mississippi;   Missouri;   Montana;   Nebraska;   Nevada;   New Hampshire;   New Jersey;   New Mexico;   New York City;   New York;   North Carolina;   North Dakota;   Ohio;   Oklahoma;   Oregon;   Pennsylvania;   Rhode Island;   South Carolina;   South Dakota;   Tennessee;   Texas;   Utah;   Vermont;   Virginia;   Washington, DC;   Washington;   West Virginia;   Wisconsin;   Wyoming

Canada: Alberta   British Columbia   Manitoba   New Brunswick   Newfoundland and Labrador   Northwest Territories   Nova Scotia   Nunavut   Ontario   Prince Edward Island   Quebec   Saskatchewan   Yukon